Introducing The Next Chapter's inaugual mentors.

The Wheeler Centre is excited to announce ten mentors who’ve been matched with The Next Chapter’s first cohort of writers. These mentors will work with each writer over 12 months to develop their work and help connect them with publishers and readers.

Poet, short-story writer and novelist Tony Birch will mentor poet Evelyn Araluen

Playwright, theatre-maker and memoirist Michele Lee will mentor memoirist Giselle Au-Nhien Nguyen

Author, cultural historian, and creative writing teacher Maria Tumarkin will mentor memoirist Jean Bachoura

Award-winning short-story writer Nam Le will mentor short fiction writer Ennis Cehic

Poet, essayist and legal scholar Alison Whittaker will mentor non-fiction writer Nayuka Gorrie

Young adult writer and advocate Rebecca Lim will mentor young adult speculative fiction writer Lian Low

Memoirist and oral storyteller Sisonke Msimang will mentor memoirist Yamiko Marama

Humorous fiction writer Nick Earls will mentor comic fiction writer Ara Sarafian

Award-winning fiction and non-fiction writer Melissa Lucashenko will mentor young adult fiction writer Adrian Stanley

Acclaimed novelist, poet and short-story writer Cate Kennedy will mentor short fiction writer Adam Thompson

Presented by the Wheeler Centre with support from the Aesop Foundation, The Next Chapter is about providing new writers with the time and space to craft their voice and career. It's about investing in a new generation of writers who will reflect the diversity of Australian identities and experiences.

For more information on our first cohort of writers, see our 2018 announcement.